Chief Observer - Clive Shardlow

Clive retired from teaching in 2007 and bought a motorcycle after a 37 year absence from riding. It soon became apparent that some re-training would be helpful. Joining the BAM (Boston Advanced Motorists), as the group was then known, enabled his training to take place and subsequently passing the advanced motorcycle test in 2011.

In 2014 Clive trained as an observer and was invited to join the BAM committee, then in 2018 was voted in as Chairman. The group became a motorcycle only group,  SLAM (South Lincolnshire Advanced Motorcyclists), due to difficulties in recruiting car observers.

Clive enrolled on the Masters course and qualified in 2017, then after five years re-qualified with a distinction.
Stepping down from the role of chairman in 2022, Clive took on the role of Chief Observer from Nigel Bean.

COmmittee Members

Chair – Andy Smith
Treasurer – Steve Hoad
Secretary – James Balls
Chief Observer – Steve Waltham
Membership Officer – Paul Morris
Publicity Officer – Vacant

Committee Members
Clive Shardlow
John Morris
Pat Horridge
Dave Long


Current SLAM Observers

Steve Waltham – National Observer
Charlie Daly – National Observer
Steve Hoad – National Observer
Francis Hughes – National Observer
Pat Horridge – National Observer
Kevin Hudson – National Observer
James Balls –  National Observer
Andy Smith – Local Observer
Richard Barker – Local Observer
Mick Love – Local Observer

Club activities

what we do

Come Ride with Us!

Become a Part of our GROUP

Add to cart